I Am From…

From sunscreen and surfboard wax.

I am from the house where the beach was my neighbor,

And the waves were my friends.

I am from the island palms,

And the backyard banana tree`s fruits that were never tasted.

I am from surfing sprees and bee stings.

From people who fought for us,

And died for us.

I`m from beach bonfires and midnight grunion runs on the beach

I`m from “yes ma`am” and “no sir”,

And “lemon drops on chimney tops but why cant I?”

From watching fireworks on the sand.

I am from the eternal sunny place,

And countries far away.

I am from eating watermelon and drinking guava juice.

From stories about Grandpa`s wars,

And how he fought for the country he loved.

I am from the shells collected on the beach,

Being stored away in pails and buckets,

Treasured and kept for years to come.

I am from from the place where the beach was my neighbor,

And the waves were my friends.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *