Favorite Childhood Object

My Old Swim Fins (photo taken by me)

My Old Swim Fins
(photo taken by me)

When I was little, I just couldn’t do without a pair of fins. I remember every night I looked through the Sport Chalet catalog, longing to have a pair as my own. I ached for the day when I could finally keep up with my parents and relatives on their frequent snorkeling excursions. The fins were a sleek black color, with blue running along the sides and middle. While I had them, they accompanied me on many adventures like swimming in the kelp forests, feeding the resident fish frozen peas, and seeing the newly hatched horn shark pups. They gave me endless joy from the time I was five and a half to 11 years old. The rich, black color has now faded, and they have to be held together by metal clips because they have been used and loved so much. Every time I pass the shelf where they stand, I reminisce of how much they meant to me.

One thought on “Favorite Childhood Object

  1. What a great memory! I am jealous… you have experiences some amazing adventures. Maybe you should blog about all the places your fins have been.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *